Saturday, April 09, 2005

The alternative list of the Presidency

Look, it's late on a Friday night, I've had a couple of beers and Weasel set me a challenge. This is a little more civilised than some of the drunken Friday night challenges that he's set me in the past but here goes.
An alternative list of the Presidency. Using the losing candidates (Those in bold actually served as President at some point)
1789 John Adams (no party designations untill 1796)
1792 John Adams
1796 Thomas Jefferson:Democratic-Republican
1800 Aaron Burr:Democratic-Republican
1804 Charles Pinckney:Federalist
1808 Charles Pinckney:Federalist
1812 DeWitt Clinton:Federalist
1816 Rufus King:Federalist
1820 John Quincy Adams:Independent Republican
1824 Andrew Jackson:Democratic-Republican
1828 John Quincy Adams:National Republican
1832 Henry Clay:National Republican
1836 William Henry Harrison:Whig
1840 Martin Van Buren:Democratic
1844 Henry Clay:Whig
1848 Lewis Cass:Democratic
1852 Winfield Scott:Whig
1856 John C. Fremont:Republican* (From this point on we assume the traditional Republican/Democrat face off. We'll start using Rep & Dem from this point)
1860 Stephen A. Douglas:Dem
1864 George B. McClennan:Dem
1868 Horatio Seymour:Dem
1872 Horace Greeley:Dem
1876 Samuel J. Tilden:Dem
1880 Winfield S. Hancock:Dem
1884 James G. Blaine:Rep
1888 Grover Cleveland:Dem
1892 Benjamin Harrison:Rep
1896 William J. Bryan:Dem
1900 William J. Bryan:Dem/Populist
1904 Alton B. Parker:Dem
1908 William J. Bryan:Dem
1912 Theodore Roosevelt:Progressive
1916 Charles E. Hughes:Rep
1920 James M.Cox:Dem
1924 John W. Davis:Dem
1928 Alfred E. Smith:Dem
1932 Herbert Hoover:Rep
1936 Alfred M. Landon:Rep
1940 Wendell L. Wilkie:Rep
1944 Thomas Dewey:Rep
1948 Thomas Dewey:Rep
1952 Adlai Stevenson:Dem
1956 Adlai Stevenson:Dem
1960 Richard Nixon:Rep
1964 Barry Goldwater:Rep
1968 Hubert Humphrey:Dem
1972 George McGovern:Dem
1976 Gerald Ford:Rep
1980 Jimmy Carter:Dem
1984 Walter Mondale:Dem
1988 Michael Dukakis:Dem
1992 George Bush:Rep
1996 Bob Dole:Rep
2000 Al Gore:Dem
2004 John Kerry:Dem

OK, no more lists. This is what happens when a political junkie gets a bit drunk at the controls of a blog. What is interesting is how many incumbents were replaced by their own party. Here endeth the lesson.

1 comment:

weasel said...

Thank you, most kind. This would have been fascinating: 1960 Richard Nixon:Rep
1964 Barry Goldwater:Rep
1968 Hubert Humphrey:Dem
1972 George McGovern:Dem